PDA

View Full Version : Omg

lilasak
04-23-2010, 03:54 PM
Well, I just finalized my retirement. I am officially retired from the Army. I couldn't wait for this day to come until I got the final signature and it hit me like a ton of bricks. I have been in the military since right out of high school. It has been the only thing I have known for 14 years. It was the one thing I did well. It basically defined who I was. I was a Soldier. Now at the age of 33 I don't know who or what a am anymore, nor do I know what I want to be when I grow up. The future is unknown, and with a wife, a kid, a mortgage, and a car not along with all the other usual bills, I have just found my self more scared of what may or may not come than anything I have ever seen in my 3 tours of combat in Iraq. It is funny how things turn out. The things you want the most sometimes turn out to be the things you need the least.

Gargamesh
04-25-2010, 08:11 AM
The Transformation to civilian life is not as difficult as people make it sound. I am a 8 Year Vet of the Navy with a tour in the Gulf in `91 and have been out for almost 16 years now. Get a resume together and look into the resources the Army has at your disposal for finding a Job. While you look, take some part time classes to help train you in a field or occupation you like. Teaching is always a good option.

None the less dont be scared, grab your life by the boot straps just like you did every morning in the Army and make it happen. There are plenty of good paying jobs out there for people just like yourself. What was your MOS in the Army? As long as it was something more then Bazooka Loader you should be fine.

Also remember that you need to move to where the jobs are. Many people make the mistake of thinking they will just move back home and find a job, wrong. Stay put until you find a job, be willing to move anywhere, and you will eventually be surprised at who is willing to hire you.